Chamber will name award winners

Mar. 02, 2013 @ 03:18 PM

The Union County Chamber of Commerce’s 2013 Excellence in Business Awards will be presented March 6.

The event will be held at the Rolling Hills Country Club in Monroe and will run from 11:30 a.m.- 1:30 p.m.

Nominees for the event have already been named as well as some award winners.

Nominations for the award began being taken in December. Anyone can be nominated for the awards as long as they’re chamber members, Theresa Byers, director of events and programs for the Union County Chamber of Commerce, said.

The award categories for this year’s event are the same as they have been in previous years and are Business Man of the Year, Business Woman of the Year, Business of the Year, Corporate Spirit Award and Business Leaders’ Hall of Fame.

Matthew Belk of Better Car People has already been named the winner of the Corporate Spirit Award while Fred Long of Hargett Electric (Formerly Long Wiring Co.), has been named the Business Leader’s Hall of Fame Winner.

The Business Many of the Year nominees are Frank Aikmus of SunTrust Bank and Chip Smith of Smith Grounds Management. Business Woman of the Year nominees are Susan Henn, of  Henn Automotive, Grace Lee of Coco Lumber Company and Lorayn DeLuca of Mama Luca Media. Business of the Year nominees are Carolina Staffing Resources (small), Coco Lumber Company (small), Norton Door Services (small), OMNOVA Solutions (medium) and Tyson Foods (large).