Winners and losers in Campaign 2012

Nov. 07, 2012 @ 12:05 PM

Union County numbers are in and contested races are decided.
The Indian Trail parks bond referendum passed by a 58.9 percent margin.
In the N.C. House of Representatives District 55 race, Republican Mark Brody won with 56 percent of the vote against Democrat Dale Nelson, who got 43 percent.
Incumbent Republican Craig Horn kept his N.C. House of Representatives District 68 seat with 65 percent of the vote. His Democratic challenger, Kenneth Baker, got 34 percent.
The Union County School Board race resulted in several new faces. Christina Helms (20.4 percent) and Mike Guzman (18.6 percent) edged out at-large incumbents David Scholl (12.06 percent) and Laura Minsk (14.5 percent). Other at-large candidates finished behind: Terri Evans won 12.8 percent, Todd Haynes won 12.05 percent, Lynn Southern won 8.9 percent, while write-in candidates took .42 percent of the vote.
In the district 2 race, Kevin Stewart won with 42.6 percent of the vote, while incumbent Carolyn Lowder took only 42 percent of the vote. Chris Randall came in third with 15.05 percent.
In the district 3 school board race, Richard Yercheck won with 54.8 percent of the vote, beating Dennis Rape, who took 44.7 percent.
Incumbent Union County District Judge Stephen Higdon won his seat again by 67.8 percent over challenger Althea Richardson-Tucker with 32.2 percent.
Likewise, incumbent District Court Judge Tripp Helms won reelection by 53.7 percent against challenger Sherryl West, who got 46.2 percent of the vote.