Deadline for school board election nears

Jul. 19, 2014 @ 04:08 PM

Filing for Union County Board of Education ends Friday.

So far, all contested seats have two candidates filed to run except District 6 where Jason Marton is the only person running.

Richard Yercheck and Jimmy Bention, who are currently serving the unexpired terms of former board members Dean Arp in District 3 and John Crowder in District 1 respectively, filed for those seats. As yet, incumbents Richard Pigg in District 4, Marce Savage in District 6 and at-large board member Sherry Hodges have not filed for reelection.

Parent anger over the school board’s redistricting plan prompted residents in the western area of the county to seek local office. A group of parents filed a lawsuit to block the redistricting while accusing the current school board of violating open meetings law before the redistricting vote. A decision on the lawsuit is expected early this week.

Candidates may file this week in the Union County Board of Elections office, 316-B Windsor St. E, Monroe. Filing fee for school board is $27.

see election/page a5

The following people have filed:

• Union County BoE at-large: Leslie Ann Boyd of Chimney Drive in Waxhaw and Sean David Maher or Ranlagh Drive in Waxhaw

• Union County BoE District 3: Richard Allen Yercheck of Manchester Avenue in Monroe and Gary Marshall Sides of Pulaski Drive in Monroe

• Union County BoE District 4: Monica Ann Earp Frank of McGregor Drive in Charlotte and Casey Carver of Little Road in Monroe

• Union County BoE Jason Robert Marton of Screech Oil Road in Waxhaw

Filing ends on Friday, July 25 at noon. For more information, contact the Union County Board of Elections at 704-283-3809.