Aikmus, Helms sworn in as commissioners

Jerry Simpson re-elected chairman
Dec. 04, 2012 @ 06:09 PM

Frank Aikmus and Richard Helms took their oaths of office on Dec. 3 and joined sitting commissioners Jerry Simpson, Todd Johnson and Jonathan Thomas to form Union County’s new Board of Commissioners. Aikmus and Helms replaced outgoing commissioners Kim Rogers and Tracy Kuehler.

Aikmus has been a resident of Union County since 2007. He grew up in a rural community in Platte County, Missouri. Aikmus graduated from Park College in Parkville, Missouri in 1995. He has spent the past 16 years of his working career in the banking and finance industry. Aikmus currently sits, as a Senate appointee, on the N.C. Debt Affordability Advisory Committee. Additionally, Aikmus has been actively involved and served on numerous community boards and groups.

With the exception of his time in the Air Force and his time moving with IBM management assignments, Commissioner Helms has been a resident of this area his entire life.

Commissioner Helms spent 30 years with the IBM Corporation. At IBM he served in various management positions and spent the last 10 years as a Customer Service Executive responsible for computer support across the US for several of the largest banks in the country. He retired from IBM in 2000 and formed Consulting IT Professionals, a management consulting company that taught management principles and performed audits on financial facilities across the county.

The new commission re-elected Jerry Simpson to be the chairman for the coming year and Todd Johnson to be the vice-chairman.