Wynn, Robbins make all-state

Jan. 02, 2014 @ 03:08 PM

Thirty-two high school football players across North Carolina
were recently voted to the Associated Press All-state team, and two of
them are from Union County.
Porter Ridge High senior Jerrick Robbins and Monroe senior Tre'Shun
Wynn were both named to the honorary squad, which was voted on by 13
media members across the state.
Robbins was picked for the team as a kick returner after averaging
41.46 yards on 13 kickoff returns and 67.5 yards on two punt returns.
He had four touchdowns on special teams, including three on kickoffs
and one a punt return.
Robbins also stood out as a tailback, finishing with 932 yards and 15
touchdowns on the ground.
A three-year starter, Robbins finished with 41 TDS in his career. He
had 20 as a senior, 16 as a junior and five as a sophomore. He helped
Porter Ridge reach the 4A state title game in 2011 and 2012.
The Pirates finished 8-5 in 2013 in their first year playing in an
all-4A league.
Wynn was voted to the all-state team as a defensive back after
totaling 48 tackles, including two for loss, and two forced fumbles.
He didn't record an interception, but had a team-high 18 pass
deflections in 14 games.
Wynn also rushed for 1,008 yards and 15 touchdowns, helping Monroe
finish 13-3 and reach the 2AA state championship game.
A four-year starter who was selected to the prestigious Shrine Bowl,
Wynn finished his career with 51 touchdowns and five interceptions.
Wynn currently has scholarship offers from N.C. State, Duke, East
Carolina, Charlotte and Appalachian State.
Mallard Creek led the all-state squad with three selections, including
tight end Jaylen Samuels, offensive lineman Omar Todman and defensive
lineman Ikeem Allen.
Mallard Creek finished 16-0 and won the 4AA state championship by
defeating Wake Forest 59-21 in the finals.
Four other schools had two all-state picks, including Dudley, South
Point, Lake Norman and Pine Forest.
Charlotte Catholic running back Elijah Hood, who has committed to
North Carolina, was the leading vote-getter by being named on 12 of
the 13 ballots.

2013 Associated
Press All-State team

The voting breakdown for the 2013 Associated Press all-state football
team for North Carolina, as cast by a 13 statewide media members in
voting results released Monday. Number of votes are in parentheses.

QB-Will Grier, Davidson Day (11)
RB-Elijah Hood, Charlotte Catholic (12)
RB-Nyheim Hines, Garner (4)
RB-Rocky Reid, Concord (4)
RB-Derrell Scott, Havelock (4)
WR-Corey Joyner, Lake Norman (8)
WR-Maurice Trowell, Southern Durham (8)
WR-Mykelti Armstrong, Forestview (7)
TE-Jaylen Samuels, Mallard Creek (10)
OL-Bentley Spain, Providence (11)
OL-Trip McNeill, Davie County (9)
OL-Nathan Dalton, East Henderson (7)
OL-Kyle Erickson, Fayetteville Britt (6)
OL-Omar Todman, Mallard Creek (6)

DL-Lamont Gaillard, Pine Forest (7)
DL-Harold Landry, Pine Forest (6)
DL-Ikeem Allen, Mallard Creek (5)
DL-Quintin Brinkley, West Forsyth (5)
LB-Chris Register, Dudley (9)
LB-Daishon Davis, South Point (7)
LB-Coult Culler, Laney (5)
DB-Jaire Alexander, Rocky River (9)
DB-Germaine Pratt, High Point Central (9)
DB-Tanner Muse, South Point (7)
DB-Quinlyn Harris, Lincolnton (5)
DB-Tre'Shun Wynn, Monroe (5)

K-Thomas Blakey, A.C. Reynolds (4)
K-Freeman Jones, Bunn (4)
P-Corbin Daly, Ardrey Kell (9)
KR-Jerrick Robbins, Porter Ridge (5)
ATH-Josh Ladowski, Lake Norman (3)
ATH-Emmanuel Moseley, Dudley (3)