Kligerman on deck in case Busch gets held up

May. 22, 2014 @ 09:56 PM

Just like a backup quarterback in the NFL, Parker Kligerman has to prepare for Sunday's Coca-Cola 600 like he's a starter.
Kligerman could was recruited by Kurt Busch to be his driver-in-waiting on Sunday.
Busch is doubling up this weekend, racing an IndyCar at the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday and then flying in for the Coca-Cola 600 in Charlotte later in the day. Busch will then helicopter into Charlotte Motorspeedway, and hopes to make it in time to start the race.
Several scenarios could hold Busch up, and Kligerman could start out in his place.
Kligerman is running practice laps this week, which make him eligible to run in the race, and he is preparing like he could be running all 600 miles.
"I absolutely hope Kurt is able to do all 1,100 miles," Kligerman told NASCAR.com. "Obviously, if something were to happen, I'd be prepared to go out there and do the 600 miles and have the chance to run this Haas Automation Chevy SS.
"But that’s not my mindset. My mindset is to help this team be at the level they are used to being at, which is up front and being prepared to go out there and win races so that when Kurt shows up, he's ready to go out there and have the best and easiest transition between an IndyCar and stock car, which is tough in itself."

Could have been a contender
Two of the top contenders knocked themselves out of last Saturday's All-Star race.
Kyle Busch, who qualified second and won the Truck Series race the night before, turned down into the right-rear of Clint Bowyer.
Bowyer's car came back up and clipped the right rear, of Busch which sent him up into the wall in Turn 3.
Dale Earnhardt Jr. just missed Busch. Joey Lagano wasn't so lucky as he careened into the No. 18, knocking both out of the race on Lap 25.
Busch had led 11 laps of the race at that point.
On Lap 80, the final lap of the fourth segment, Kasey Kahne's No. 5 slammed into the outside wall.
Kahne had led 20 laps, the second most of the event, and was out in front of the field by more than a second on two occasions.

Over-shooting pit road
Qualifying for the All-Star race is completely different from any points race qualifying.
Instead of running two laps with the best time of the two taken, All-Star qualifying is based on a combined time of three laps and a four-tire-change pit stop.
There is also no speed limit on pit road, and it cost some drivers: five of the 22 participants over shot their pit-box.
 All five qualified in the bottom half of the field, with Tony Stewart the top qualifier at 15th.

race winners

(this millennium)

2014: Jamie McMurray
2013: Jimmie Johnson
2012: Jimmie Johnson
2011: Carl Edwards
2010: Kurt Busch
2009: Tony Stewart
2008: Kasey Kahne
2007: Kevin Harvick
2006: Jimmie Johnson
2005: Mark Martin
2004: Matt Kenseth
2003: Jimmie Johnson
2002: Ryan Newman
2001: Jeff Gordon
2000: Dale Earnhardt Jr.