Roddy rakes in another honor

Monroe High star voted UC's top performer
May. 03, 2013 @ 02:14 PM

Brandon Roddy established himself as the top scorer in Union County during the 2012-13 season.

After scoring 16.0 points per game as a sophomore, the Monroe High guard improved his average to 21.3 ppg as a junior and was named Player of the Year in the Rocky River Conference.

For his standout season, Roddy has also been voted The Enquirer-Journal's Union County Player of the Year.

"Brandon can make the outside shot and he's a good enough player to where he can put the ball on the floor and take it to the bucket," said Redhawks coach Johnny Sowell of his 6-foot, 160-pound combo guard. "He knocks down free throws, too, and when you put all that together it made him a complete player for us."

Roddy — an all-state selection by — helped lead the Redhawks to a 23-4 record, including an 11-4 mark in the RRC.

He eclipsed 20 points 17 times, including a career-high 35 in a victory over Porter Ridge.

Monroe was the only team in the state to beat league champion Cuthbertson twice last season. The Cavaliers went on to play for the 2A state title.

According to Sowell, Roddy is getting serious interest from Division I programs such as North Carolina A&T and Mercer, but no scholarship offers have been made.

"Everything that he's doing right now, he's got to take those phases of his game and keep getting better," said Sowell. "He's got to work a little more on his quickness and get ready for the next level. If you're a great shooter and you can play great defense that will keep you on the floor at most places."

The rest of the all-Union County first-team includes Cuthbertson junior guard Shelton Mitchell, Cuthbertson senior forward Isiah Cureton, Marvin Ridge junior forward John Emezie and Piedmont senior forward Brady Meggs.

Mitchell and Cureton helped the Cavaliers finish 29-4 and advance to their second straight 2A state championship game.

Mitchell, an all-state selection who is transferring to Oak Hill Academy for his senior year, averaged 20.3 points, 4.3 assists and 3.7 steals per game.

Cureton, a 6-4 wing who has signed with Wingate University, posted 13.4 points and 6.9 rebounds per contest.

Mitchell and Cureton helped Cuthbertson compile an 82-14 record over the last three seasons.

Marvin Ridge's Emezie ranked third in the county in points (18.0) and rebounds (7.2) per game.

The 6-foot-5, 190-pound forward helped Marvin Ridge to a 15-10 record, including an 8-2 mark in the Southern Carolina Conference. The Mavs were regular season champs of the league.

Emezie turned it up a notch late in the season by scoring 20 or more in nine of his team's last 12 games. He had a season-high 29 points and 12 rebounds in a win over Parkwood.

Meggs helped Piedmont to one of its best seasons in school history as the Panthers finished 21-6 and reached the second round of the 2A state playoffs.

The 6-foot-4 forward led the Panthers in scoring at 15.6 ppg and was second on the team at 6.6 rebounds per contest.

Meggs' best game came in a win over Marvin Ridge, when he finished with 29 points and six rebounds.

Porter Ridge sophomore Caleb Homesley was voted UC's newcomer of the year while Cuthbertson's Mike Helms was named coach of the year.

Homesley, a sophomore wing, averaged 8.2 points in his first year as a starter for the Pirates. He shot 42.2 percent (27-for-64) from the 3-point line.


2012-13 All-Union County

boys basketball team

(as selected by The Enquirer-Journal)

First team


Brandon Roddy^Jr.^Monroe

Shelton Mitchell^Jr.^Cuthbertson

Isaiah Cureton^Sr.^Cuthbertson

John Emezie^Jr.^Marvin Ridge

Brady Meggs^Sr.^Piedmont

Second team

Kendall Ratliff^Sr.^Sun Valley

Brandon Watts^Jr.^Weddington

Taylor Neal^Sr.^Marvin Ridge

Quayshawn Chambers^Sr.^Monroe

Qualen Blakeney^Sr.^Piedmont


Third team

Emmitt Afam^Sr.^Cuthbertson

Roderick Poag^Sr.^Forest Hills

Cameron Tripp^So.^Piedmont

Hakeem Polk^So.^Sun Valley

Logan Jackson^Sr.^Marvin Ridge

Player of the year: Brandon Roddy, Monroe

Newcomer of the year: Caleb Homesley (So.), Porter Ridge

Coach of the year: Mike Helms, Cuthbertson